“She wrote to save her life.” These are the first words I wrote at the beginning of January 2015, after I had taken a leave of absence from my teaching job mid-school year, once the kids and my teacher husband went back to school after the holiday break, when I realized I had to fill my time with more of the things I love.

Nine months later, I’m making a declaration. I am a writer. Even writing those words, my stomach leaps up and down. I am a writer. Am I trying to convince you or me? I am a writer. Can I turn this into a career where I can replace my teaching salary in the next five years? I am a writer. This is my story yet to be told, yet to be lived. There will be failures and you’ll be there to see them. You might even be there to point them out to me. I would be grateful. I need your feedback, your constructive criticism, your encouragement. Thank you for being on this journey with me.

Leave a Reply

