I haven’t forgotten about you. I just didn’t want to face you. Not because I’ve been slacking. I’m proud to say slacking is not a characteristic of mine. I didn’t want to face you (not YOU specifically), but you, as in the world of social media. Usually when people say ‘you have to do it,’ I kindly or not-so-kindly say, ‘whatever’.

But here I am. And yes, I do have a Facebook page, but I have zero friends. Yes, that is correct. I am proud of that fact. (And less proud of the fact that even without any fb friends, I spend time learning about complete strangers’ lives…not good, or healthy.) I also joined Twitter today (WHAT? I know, right?) This is all very scary for me. I don’t really like being like everyone else. I loathe it (and yet, I know I’m way too normal not be just like everyone else).

But I thought about you today and wanted to let you know how my journey is going…here’s what I’ve been up to over the last six months.

  1. Finished a pantsers’ style draft (thank you, Stephen King). (Note: If you want to be a writer, read his book “On Writing”. It’s hysterical, insightful, and not scary at all (well, not gorey!)
  2. Took the online Story Genius class with Lisa Cron and Jenny Nash (10 weeks, plus 6 week extension). (Note to writers: Read Lisa Cron’s ‘Wired for Story’ and “Story Genius”!)
  3. Attended SCBWI Summer LA conference and went to intensives.
  4. Networked and have developed ongoing, collaborative friendships with other unpublished writers, as well as, published writers.
  5. Have stopped meeting weekly with writing group.
  6. Work on my writing each day of the week (I do take off most weekends).
  7. Gave my finished draft to a publish writer/friend and scraped it based on her feedback. (This was great because then I started from scratch and it feels a whole lot better.)
  8. This weekend I’ll attend the Children’s Writers’ Workshop in Big Sur. I’m carpooling with fellow writers I’ve never met!

So, I’ve been busy this last year. I’ve got four more (technically). The interesting thing I learned this summer in my Story Genius class (and with help from Angela Duckworth’s book “Grit” (Note to everyone: Read it): It really is the journey. I’m settling in. I’m not really in a hurry. I know it might very well take more than four years. I’m okay with that. I wasn’t when I started this. I felt pressure, but now something’s changed. I’m okay with failing, if you can even call it that, it’s really just trying to figure it all out. And I’m just excited to have the opportunity to be doing it.

 

Leave a Reply

